Page 2 of 2

Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:49 am
by geeli80
this help me also
i think this should be in the documentation

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:58 pm
by Natan
Absolutely.
Thanks people for the good investigation.

Natan

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 11:11 am
by Cuicui
Hey guys

Seems something is going wrong with the ide0=noprobe switch and PING's latest release.

I upgraded PING on a PXE server, and added the ide0=noprobe in the default file. Now I can correctly format my partition with mkntfs on a Dell D620, but imaging and restoring keep being slow.

Does it have anything to do with changes in Initrd?

Thanks for your help

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 11:21 am
by Natan
Try this...:
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/How_to_ho ... ay_devices

Maybe the kernel guys have changed some things with the latest release...

Natan

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 11:24 am
by Natan
OK, found this :
http://linux-fan-alfs.blogspot.com/2008 ... s-and.html

They say:
The syntax changed from "ide0=noprobe" to "ide_core.noprobe=0.0 ide_core.noprobe=0.1"

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:34 pm
by Cuicui
Thanks Natan, but this is only getting weirder. When using the new option, it does not detect any drive on the machine... Wonder what's broken there.

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:49 pm
by Natan
And what about hda=noprobe ?...

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:51 pm
by Natan
Just seen this :
http://www.linuxhq.com/kernel/v2.6/26/D ... meters.txt

- Format: ide?=noprobe or chipset specific parameters.
+ Format: ide=nodma or ide=doubler

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:52 pm
by Cuicui
hda=noprobe leads me ta a nice "no hdd found"... wonder what's up

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:54 pm
by Natan
And this...:
v2:
* "ide?=noprobe" -> "ide?=ata66" in Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt.


in ftp://ftp.lip6.fr/pub/linux/kernel/sour ... Log-2.6.26

hmmm...

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:55 pm
by Natan
What is sure is: ide0=noprobe is obsolete, and has been removed from 2.6.26.

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:57 pm
by Natan
Can also try to set the bios setting so to avoid the damned Dell "compatibility mode". Then record the new bios settings so to redeploy them.

Re:

Posted: Fri Apr 17, 2015 6:42 pm
by Alberto Maria
Flow wrote:Natan or Curtis8 or anyone, do you know why the D620 (with a ICH7M chipset) does not recognize SATA as SATA? Also the "Clocksource tsc unstable" what does it mean, how do you fix that? If you don't know, do you have an idea?


I have just noticed the message Clocksource tsc unstable (delta =748827945 ns) near the row Data Copied.... :shock: :shock:

What is this :?:

Btw it's the first time I see it... :roll:

Will be the image correct? :?: :?: :?: